PDA

View Full Version : Laser Plastic Help

william kennington
06-11-2007, 9:24 PM
Hello Sawmill Creek Gang, I am looking for a 2 ply laserable plastic for name badges. The problem is I can't seem to find 1/16 laserable plastic in a regular gold that engraves black. Lots of brushed colors it seems like. Any recommendations on where to look? The customer wants just a regular gold/black not the brushed look. I have looked at Johnson Plastics but seems its only rotory stuff available in that color. Any suggestions?
Thanks for your help in advance. I am new to the laser technology, will any of the rotory plastic engrave ok with the laser?

Pinnacle M30 Corel Draw X3

Scott Shepherd
06-11-2007, 9:40 PM
Gold as in a flat gold appearance, or as in a mirror gold appearance?

I have lasered rotary engraving material with limited success. It has a thicker cap sheet, so doesn't cut as easy. I had to run it a couple of times. It can also be a little bit of a problem when vector cutting, but it's all stuff you can work around if you have only a couple to do. That's my limited knowledge of working with it. Maybe someone else can expland on it.

william kennington
06-11-2007, 10:06 PM
Scott, thanks for the info. Flat gold or a satin gold is what I am looking for. I didn't think the rotory stuff would work well either based on what I have read here on the forum. Thanks!

Larry Bratton
06-11-2007, 10:41 PM
William:
Rowmark makes Laserlights in a glossy gold S74 Sm Gold/Black which is .004 thick. Bond it to an acrylic back and I think that will work for you. It is really thin and I don't see that it would be a problem to do that.
I would get a sample first and try it though. Good luck!

Rodne Gold
06-12-2007, 12:55 AM
Why not just spray paint black acrylic and laser thru the paint . Basicallly the same thing as the laminated stuff , most likely more hard wearing too.

Mike Null
06-12-2007, 6:55 AM