PDA

View Full Version : Laundry Room/Shop update

Greg Peterson
06-09-2007, 9:52 PM
I'm just a humble newbie trying to reconfigure my existing house to work with my hobby.

The attached two car garage, which aside from the rare brake job or the time I replace the engine in my S-10, has not been used for what it was designed for.

So, I partitioned off about 1/4 off the space for a laundry room. The washer and dryer were originally inside the house right off the kitchen. This arrangement was noisy as all get out, even with a front loading washer (which is vastly quieter than the traditional top loaders). I had to install a drain and water hookup, but it was worth it. I got a new dryer a few months ago so that I could stack the washer and dryer. This configuration in conjunction with the new tankless water heater has really created a lot of space. The laundry room is roughly 100 square feet. Eliminating the dryer foot print and the water heater foot print has free up almost 17 square feet. This is a huge savings in space when your talking about a small space. This will allow me to install a couple of cabinets and utility sink. Based on the previous configuration, these additions would not have been possible.