PDA

View Full Version : Assorted turnings

Jerry Pittman
06-09-2007, 6:49 PM
I've been looking at everyone elses beautiful work for a few weeks. I've been practicing for a few months and produced a few pieces.
Now, I guess, it's time to post some things I done over the last few months and get some opinions other than LOML because she's biased. :)
Comments welcome
Jerry

Dennis Peacock
06-09-2007, 7:02 PM
Very nice turnings there Jerry.

Welcome to The Creek and Welcome to the Vortex of turning. :D

TYLER WOOD
06-09-2007, 7:06 PM
I really like the Brazilian cherry pice, and the oak candle holders. The others are nice too. I think the base on the last one is a little tall for it. Nice beginnigs! I welcome you to the creek and, congrats on the nice beginnigs!

Jerry Pittman
06-09-2007, 7:38 PM
I really like the Brazilian cherry pice, and the oak candle holders. The others are nice too. I think the base on the last one is a little tall for it. Nice beginnigs! I welcome you to the creek and, congrats on the nice beginnigs!
Tyler,
Yes, I agree with your comment re: the base on the Walnut bowl. It didn't look that way on the lathe so I finished it while it was chucked up. When it came off, I realized my proportions were off. I've tried to put a couple things back on the lathe and modify them but dfidn't have good results; I managed to ruin both of them. :(
Thanks for the comment.
Jerry

Patrick Taylor
06-09-2007, 8:27 PM
Welcome! Your attention to detail and finish really shows.

Steve Schlumpf
06-09-2007, 9:45 PM
Jerry - Welcome to the Creek! Nice work - like the cherry bowl - love the finishes! Looking forward to seeing more of your work!

Ernie Nyvall
06-10-2007, 7:42 AM
Welcome Jerry. Looks like a fine start.

Bernie Weishapl
06-10-2007, 10:14 AM
Jerry welcome to SMC. Looks to me like your practice has paid off. Those are some very nice turnings.

Dave Carey
06-10-2007, 10:59 AM
Jerry,