PDA

View Full Version : Tablesaw and planer purchase and suggestions

Minh Nguyen
06-08-2007, 11:28 AM
Hello All -

Excuse my newbie questions. I am really new to woodworking. All I have taken so far is two woodworking classes (4 hrs a week for 6 weeks), so my experience is very limited. I hadn't used a tablesaw, planer, jointer , radial arm saw before this class. Now I have caught the woodworking bug and want to start my own woodshop. The shop will be in my two car garage - which is used for for storage, washer & dryer, and fish tank filtration system. Space is limited.

I am looking at purchasing my first table saw. My budget is limited ($1500 max). Right now - I am leaning towards the Grizzly G1023SL. From all the review I have read, it's not the best tablesaw out there, but it's great for the price. The tablesaw does not come with any blades, so I need to purchase one. Seems like everyone likes the Forrest Woodworker II blade. I went to amazon to look at the Forrest WWII blades, and can't figure out which one to purchase. Should I go with a 40T or 60T blade? My first project will be cutting 3/4" oak in 2" strips in order to refinish my wood floor. (Estimate cost to hire a professional = $3500. Told my wife if I could buy the tools, I could do it for much less. :D ). I am also looking at the Incra LS32-TS table saw fence system. IS the Incra LS32-TS worth the price? Between the table saw ($995), the Incra LS32-TS ($340) and blade ($99) - I am at about my table saw limit.

The second item I am looking at is a planer. I need this to plane down the planks of wood for my hardwood floor project. Right now - I am leaning towards a refurbished Delta DW735 from Ebay. $500 is about the max I am willing to spend on the planer. Any other suggestions?

Hopefully I will be looking at getting a jointer in the near future. But at this time, I need to buy the tools "needed" to refinish my hardwood floor.

Thanks
Minh

James Phillips
06-08-2007, 11:47 AM