PDA

View Full Version : Used DJ-20...worth it?

daniel lane
06-06-2007, 11:30 PM
Assuming I can still get it, I know of someone selling a "works perfectly" DJ-20 with a spare set of knives. Looking at it, I think it is probably more machine than I need, but for $875 (asking), it may be worth considering. Those of you with more knowledge of these than I (i.e. all of you!), how hard should I pursue this?

Edit: Given just the above, I realized that most of you would probably recommend jumping on it. To confuse the issue, I should point out that (a) I do not have the largest workshop, and (b) on my remaining budget, I still need to purchase a TS, jointer, and some hand tools. Money saved on one of those 3 goes to the others. :)

TIA,

daniel

Dave MacArthur
06-06-2007, 11:47 PM
I just bought one, the asking (CraigsList) was $1000, I got it for $700. You might be able to likewise get it slightly less, depending on where/who you buy from.

I love mine, and although I am a weekend hobbyist just making stuff for my own home and some rentals, I am glad I replaced a 6" shortbed. My perception is that the "patent" on the DJ20 is up, and it has been essentially copied by several, including Grizzly.

The question really is, "Who makes the best copy, and is it better than the original?". The similar Grizzly (0490) was highly rated in recent magazine 8" jointer review, and got top place. Some of that may have been for it's lower price, but it did very well in all aspects. Here is the link to the "copy" of the DJ20, the 490:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/G0490
which they now have delivered to you for $895 (50$off today). Note it also comes with a built in mobile base.

I personally would have bought that one, had I not been able to find a DJ20 for less. In my mind, after researching 8" jointers (which I WOULD RECOMMEND over a 6", if you are even close financially!), I wanted a DJ20 or a Powermatic, but only for equal or less than the Grizzly.