PDA

View Full Version : Bowl Turning Dimensions

Ron Mitchell
06-06-2007, 4:12 PM
I'm new to bowl turning and I only have done two so far. I was wondering where I might find information on basic design dimensions.
someone mentioned that the base should be about 1/3 the size of the rim of the bowl is that a standard? any help would be greatly appreciated

Ken LaSota
06-06-2007, 4:18 PM
Ron as far as set numbers I don't use any but look around your house or any gift store at bowls and vases and make whatever your heart desires. Every project comes out different an is left to your imagination,don't try to copy any one pattern just experiment and have fun.
Ken

Matt Haus
06-06-2007, 4:32 PM
Ron,

There are several books out there that will tell you this. One of them is Woodturning Projects by Mark Barker. I found it at Barns and Nobles.

Mike Vickery
06-06-2007, 4:35 PM
Their is no one standard but several guidlines. I canot post a link to another forum but Russ Fairfield has a very usefull article about bowl proportions that you should be able to find. If not pm me and I will send you a link.

Base size will depend on intended use and preference but 1/3 is a good general guildine to start with.

At one point I made a spreadsheet that listed heigth width and base size by the Golden mean method and the Rule of thirds for my common range of bowls, but I have no idea where it is now. I believe it was helpfull for me at the time but do not use it any more. You should be able to whip one up in excel in a couple minutes.

TYLER WOOD
06-06-2007, 4:40 PM
I think what you are refering to is the golden ratio or mean. It refers to a ratio of the proportions of the object being designed. You can read some here about it, but I'm sure there is better information about it elsewhere

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Golden_ratio#Sculpture

http://home.vicnet.net.au/~pwguild/a-design.htm