PDA

View Full Version : MDF Cabinet doors

Andrew Harver
06-06-2007, 7:44 AM
I hope I am in the right place, please be kind, I'm a newbie. I am thinking of refacing my kitchen cabinets and would like to know if a 1 piece MDF is good/not as good as a 5-piece poplar with MDF center.

I have received conflicting info on both and I guess my main concern is, does the MDF chip or warp easily? Are they fine for cabinet doors?

Thanks,
Andrew

David Weaver
06-06-2007, 8:07 AM
MDF shouldn't warp if it's covered and sealed correctly - at least it hasn't in my experience.

* It will chip at the edges if it doesn't have a protective layer.
* It's hard on tooling if you're going to cut it and use a router on it
* It's cheap, and easy to shape
* It makes very heavy cabinet doors - the larger the cabinets, the more you'll notice.
* Hinges - like amerock hinges that require three holes (one large for the hinge body, and two small holes for stability - work fine in the doors and don't come out, even though MDF doesn't hold screws as well as wood. I wouldn't test that theory by getting hinges that don't anchor themselves pretty well into the MDF.
* "raised panel" style MDF doors for us were always just a flat piece of 3/4" with a groove routed into them to make them a raised panel style. I'm assuming you aren't going to try to assemble a raised panel door rails and styles using the MDF.

When i worked in a cabinet factory in college, all of the "white" thermofoil doors we made were MDF core. I don't recall ever hearing any complaints about them (except from us, because the doors with thermofoil are heavy and hard to carry in pairs - they slip apart).

What do you plan on doing to finish the outsides of them? The poplar with MDF center sounds like a good compromise.

Now I'll step aside and wait to see what the experts say.

Scott Loven
06-06-2007, 8:45 AM
Are you buying or making these doors? Painted or plastic coated MDF is fine if you like the look.
Scott

Andrew Harver