PDA

View Full Version : Juried show in Idaho

Paul Engle
06-01-2007, 10:29 AM
Alass, the jury is in and said I was out, my work not good enuf for an arts and craft fair....hmmm being a memeber does not help either. Well the big bowl went to the walk for life Cancer fundraiser silent auction at Litehouse ( 100$) the red fir vase sits on LOML's couch table and the maple burl " bowl " is for sale ,it also has a ( removable ) walnut base so it can sit flat or upright, make offer + shipping. See the orginal thread or PM me for more pics.

Frank Kobilsek
06-01-2007, 11:03 AM
Paul

Don't get yourself in a funk about getting bumped from a juried show. This is my first year of applying to juried shows. I hit on 3 of 4. The one that bumped me is very artsy versus those that accepted me I would not say that about.

Truth is that jury fee is a major fundraiser for some show promoters. I had planned to apply for a big Show. Upon further research I discovered they receive about 1500 application for 150 spots. Of the 150 spots about 100 are already reserved for past award winners and officer of the club. So do the math 50 spots with 1500 artist paying $50 each to apply. That's a fundraiser not a jury.

Frank

Nancy Laird
06-01-2007, 1:33 PM
Paul, can you post a link to the original thread. I'd like to consider it.

Nancy

Bill Wyko
06-01-2007, 2:03 PM
I'm going to ask another stupid question if thats ok. What's a juried show mean?

Frank Kobilsek
06-01-2007, 2:22 PM
Bill,

Some show you just rent the space and you are in. Others 'Juried' they select thier exhibitors from applications that include pictures. So your pictures or slides need to be good enough to impress the jurors so they accept you. These are generally shows where the artist can retail thier work versus exhibits or competitions where the judging is for the contest not the opportunity to retail. Juried shows often have a contest aspect and will award prizes cash or otherwise to winners.

Frank

Al Wasser