View Full Version : New Guy, Lots of questions

Joe Denney
05-30-2007, 4:31 PM
Hi all. I am a genuine noob to woodworking, having grown up with no shop classes or anyone I know who works wood. I am taking the Foundational Course at the Center for Essential Education near Waco, TX in October. In preparation for the class, I am planning on building a bench based on Bob and Dave's Good, Fast and Cheap bench plans, putting together a basic hand tool kit of 3-4 planes, chisels, and handsaws and learning to sharpen these tools. I am converting most of my old single car garage to a Neader shop.

My first question is on finishing a wall in my garage. It is the wall shared with the house and is currently unfinished with large mortar blocks labeled "Acme Partition Tile". I would like to finish this wall with 3/4" plywood so I can hang tools, etc from the wall, since I am so short on space. Whats the best way to attach the plywood?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Ryan Cathey
05-30-2007, 5:05 PM
Well, welocme to the Creek first off!! For attaching the plywood I once saw Norm do it by attaching cleats to the walls using masonry screws then just nailing/gluing/screwing or whatever the plywood to the cleats.

Martin Shupe
05-30-2007, 5:13 PM
I have no idea about your wall, but I have heard the Waco school is good, so I'd like to hear a report about your experience there.

Welcome aboard.

Terry Bigelow
05-30-2007, 5:25 PM