PDA

View Full Version : Goblet (Critique requested)

Ron Erickson
05-29-2007, 9:49 PM
This is a cherry goblet with captured rings. It is 6 1/2" tall and 2 1/2" in diameter. The finish is antique oil with min-wax varnish. I think the cup should have been deeper and the rings are too bulky. This is my first posting with my new light tent. What do you think?
Ron

Joe Scarfo
05-29-2007, 10:49 PM
I think it's great... and would absolutely love to try something like that....

I gotta ask, how did you do the rings?

What would you finish it with if it's going to be used often with dinner? I'm considering something more of a "water glass" scale. Wider, deeper, and shorter stem. What would you finish it with if it's going to be used for water, milk, and juices?

Thanks
Joe

Mike A. Smith
05-29-2007, 11:05 PM
Very nice Ron! I haven't done a goblem before so I'm no expert, but I like what I see.

The picture look good too. I just set up my light tent last weekend, makes a world of difference.

Kevin McPeek
05-29-2007, 11:35 PM
First of all, it's a great piece.
I feel the proportions of the cup to the stem are spot on, and while the rings are a great accent and show of workmanship, I agree they are a little bulky. They draw my eye right to them and make me skip right over the great beading and graceful taper of the stem.
Is there any detail on the base? I would like to see some detail there that would thin the base a little.
The image is very nice and clear. I think if it were exposed a little more the color and grain may show more prominantly.
I really like the overall look piece, I'd be proud to own it.

Gary DeWitt
05-30-2007, 1:59 AM
I like it overall too. How about if the rings were somewhere between the thickness at the narrowest point of the upper stem and the lower? Since this is probably a display only piece, there's no concern over the strength of the rings against splitting...