PDA

View Full Version : What's Your Safety Record While Woodworking?

Matt Lentzner
05-29-2007, 8:14 PM
I myself haven't had any bad experiences, but I'm a newbie. I am very serious about safety. I use all my guards, splitters, safety glasses, ear protection, dust mask, push sticks, etc. I generally double check myself before turning the machine on.

The only time things get a little hairy is when I've been cutting sheet goods by myself. I plan to get a guided system in the near future (EZ or Ftool) to rectify this problem.

I did have my first ejection on my TS (not a kickback), but I was standing to the side so it was nowhere near me.

Jim Becker
05-29-2007, 8:23 PM
I have hurt myself twice. The first time I clobbered myself with the end of a Bessey K-Body clamp that was longer that necessary, but at the time, the only one available. I have a nice scar on my forehead near the eyebrow from that little incident.

The second time was on New Years Day a few years ago...I proved that the 3/4" Ashley Iles chisel I was sharpening was...well...sharp...by requiring 5 stitches on my left thumb knuckle...on a holiday.

I tend to be very safety conscious in my shop. The riving knife is on my table saw 100% of the time and I use other safety systems as appropriate on other tools. I wear safety glasses 110% of the time I'm in the shop (which means I leave them on even when I walk into the house for a few minutes). I wear hearing protection when appropriate. And I use dust control religiously; both on the stationary equipment and on hand-held dust producers.

Most of all...I try not to rush anything. Rushing (and fatigue) are the main causes of accidents, IMHO.

Randy Denby
05-29-2007, 8:46 PM