PDA

View Full Version : I should introduce myself

Ed Garrett
05-27-2007, 5:42 PM
I've lurked for a couple of years, learned so much from this site, and just recently started posting.

I got the bug about 25 years ago when I worked part time in college (minimum wage) at a little furniture factory. All I did was cut out oak arm parts for sofas, but I started bringing home scraps and making boomerangs. My eyesight was good enough then to make strong dovetails with a jigsaw. My first major tool (1985) was a C'man Flex Drive TS. Don't laugh. I've still got it. I've read negative comments about this saw, but for me it's been a wondertool. I've done a few mods & repairs to it and I get great results. I've made everything: big/small furniture, built-in stuff, toys, mechanical items, cabinets, outdoor furniture, etc. from oak, cherry, teak, maple... I've been told I'm anal about finishes and ultra-tight joints. I'm self taught and got the idea early that every corner should be rounded and every part you touch should feel like glass. I design everything myself using MS Excel and Paintbrush for CAD. Nothing I make looks like any furniture you've ever seen. I figure it's easier and cheaper to buy store-bought stuff if that's what you want your furniture to look like.

I've got plans and budget for a big new shop, some updated tools, and a cyclone, but I haven't pulled the trigger yet because I'm also dreaming of moving to a cooler/drier climate. I'd hate to move away from my dream shop.

I'm probably an oddball woodworker because I haven't really known any other woodworkers along the way. I live in a decent sized city (Tallahassee, FL), but I have the feeling this hobby is not so popular here due to extreme heat/humidity for about half the year, which is why I've been so pleased to "meet" you folks.

I have read so many postings by some of you that I feel like I know you. I can't thank you enough for all the incredible information. I hope I can return the favor.

Sincerely,