PDA

View Full Version : Pricing Question w/pics

Frank Howell
05-24-2007, 4:12 PM
As many of you may know, I've been drawn into the vortex and have done some turnings. It started with some spendles and as I finished them, I'd bring them into work to show my friends. Well, the other day, I did a bottle stopper, just for practice, from a blank of poplar, and as well as posting the pics here, I also showed it to my friends at work.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Shop%20pics/IMG_0052.jpg
That day, I had 4 friends put in dibs for bottle stoppers, most wanting 2 and one wanting 6.

Last night I turned another one from Mahogany, and today I have 2 more multiple orders.
http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h187/Ice-Pirate/Woodworking/Shop%20pics/IMG_0061.jpg

I'm getting these turned and finished within 2 hours, and I'm not good enough to really plan and control a given shape, nor to copy exactly one that I've already done. In other words, I'm still a real rookie at this.

My cost is about $5 for the kit, another 2 to 3 for the wood, and I figure another buck for finish materials, but how much over cost would you consider to be reasonable?

I'm thinking about just making up a dozen or so and letting them take their pick. I'll do some really ornate and keep some small and simple, and try for an array of timbers.

Mike Vickery
05-24-2007, 4:15 PM
In the past I have charged $25 to $35 dollars for stoppers.

It may not seems like much based on the time you put in, but you will get faster.

Nancy Laird
05-24-2007, 4:21 PM
Frank, In our shop, the standard is cost of materials x 3, which would make your stoppers be about $30. That covers overhead and profit and taxes.

Nancy

Patrick Taylor
05-24-2007, 4:29 PM
Frank, In our shop, the standard is cost of materials x 3, which would make your stoppers be about $30. That covers overhead and profit and taxes.

Nancy

So for bowls from harvested wood, you give them away? 0x3 is still 0! ;)

Stan Cook