PDA

View Full Version : Danish oil food safety?

Patrick Taylor
05-24-2007, 12:49 PM
First, I don't want to use nut oils due to allergies in the family.

I use danish oil on pieces for "looking at." If I make a functional bowl, finish with danish oil, and buff but DON'T wax, is it food safe?

I'm an engineer, not a chemist! ;)

Thanks,
Pat

Don Orr
05-24-2007, 1:49 PM
Patrick,

Most current thinking regarding finishes and food safety is that a finish that cures, especially by polymerization like Danish oil, is food safe when COMPLETELY cured. This can take days, even weeks depending on the oil it is based on. These types of finishes become bonded to the wood and themselves and become essentially inert. I am not a chemist or FDA expert, but this information comes from those in the know with much more experience than I.

(Usual disclaimer-use your own best judgement and common sense. I accept no responsibility for use or misuse of the above information. It's the American way don't you know;) .)

There is another finishing technique that has been used for much longer than any of the applied penetrating or film finishes and is almost guaranteed to be food safe. That is no finish at all. Just leave the wood bare, and clean and dry it when done using it. Been done that way for centuries.

Lance Sleeper
05-24-2007, 1:52 PM
Danish is fine as long as it is well cured. I make cutting boards and use Danish exclusively (Watco). I let them sit for 30 days prior to using them. The bowl should be fine with the proper curing time. Dad has done the same thing with salad bowls for years.

Patrick Taylor
05-24-2007, 2:33 PM
Patrick,
...There is another finishing technique that has been used for much longer than any of the applied penetrating or film finishes and is almost guaranteed to be food safe. That is no finish at all. Just leave the wood bare, and clean and dry it when done using it. Been done that way for centuries.