PDA

View Full Version : ?Lighting over and around lathe?

Kurt Whitley
05-23-2007, 9:46 PM
I am putting my lathe in an essentially unlit area of my garage.
If you could start from scratch, how would you set up your lighting?
Flourescent? Directional? Locations?

I'm considering permanent ceiling mounted lamps and movable floor/clamp lights.

Thanks,
Kurt

Grant Wilkinson
05-23-2007, 9:48 PM
Kurt

I'm a turning newbie, but FWIW, I went with two drafting table lights. They have the articulated arms and swivel heads. I put a 60 watt incandescent daylight bulb in each of them. I can bend, swivel and generally move them any way I want to get the shadow where I need it.

They were cheap and so far, have worked very well.

Bernie Weishapl
05-23-2007, 10:16 PM
Kurt I have 3 flourescents above the lathe. One the length of the lathe and then on each end running the opposite of the one above the bed. Kinda in a U shape. I don't have much for shadows. I have T8 daylight bulbs in them. It is almost like being outside on a sunny day. I do have one articulating lamp for close up's or to look inside whatever I am turning.

Jamie Donaldson
05-23-2007, 10:26 PM
.. the primary light source at the lathe. There is documented medical evidence that the pulsing /strobing effect can induce epileptic seizures in certain prone individuals. They are fine for general area lighting, but an adjustable incandescent type light is much preferred right at the lathe work area.

Patrick Taylor
05-23-2007, 11:42 PM
I have 2 500W halogen work lights ($40) for the general area and an articulating 60W incandescent for the lathe itself. I wish I had more light sometimes, like maybe one or two more of the articulating lamps. ($10 at staples)

Dennis Peacock
05-23-2007, 11:52 PM
I have an 8' Flourescent light in my lathe area and I use an articulate desk lamp with a 100W bulb in it for close lighting while turning. Works fine for me.

Kurt Whitley
05-24-2007, 1:04 PM
I appreciate the responses.