PDA

View Full Version : First bowl/vase (Whatever?)

Joe H. Davis
05-22-2007, 3:46 AM
My woodturning club came into a Pepper Tree that was going to be taken down and was able to get a couple of pieces. I am new to turning so this is my first major bowl, done a few small ones, but this is my first shot of anything substantial. Was a great learning experience and the piece is still drying and is still moving a lot that isn’t shown here. Not sure what you would call it, so it is piece Whatever #1

Joe

Steve Trauthwein
05-22-2007, 7:35 AM
A natural edge piece that is what, 8 or 10 inches tall with what looks like nice thin wall thicknes for a first piece! I see great things to come. I wouldn't even have my first bowl but the wife wouldn't let me throw it away.

Higher than it is wide I would call it a vase. (long a, short a, your choice)

Regards, Steve

Glenn Hodges
05-22-2007, 8:29 AM
Looks as if you choose a beautiful piece of wood to turn your first vase. As you progress you might want to think about design with the base being 1/3 the size of the top. I think you did a super job, I would have never posted a picture of my first one, and never attempted a natural edge, great job. I will be looking forward to more of your pictures. BTW, where are you located?

Steve Schlumpf
05-22-2007, 8:59 AM
Welcome to the Creek Joe! I like your vase! Great looking wood and finish! I look forward to seeing more of your work!

Keith Burns
05-22-2007, 9:01 AM
Joe, welcome to the Creek ! A great place with lots of helpful folks! Nice looking vase for sure.:) :)

William Bachtel
05-22-2007, 9:43 AM
Real nice. We only get better with practice. Not that , that could get any better. Good job .

Ken LaSota
05-22-2007, 11:25 AM
Joe welcome to our world. You did a great job on that bowl something to be proud of. Don't forget to sign and date it also the type of wood.
Ken

Joe H. Davis
05-22-2007, 12:41 PM