PDA

View Full Version : I Keep On Learning

Pete Jordan
05-18-2007, 9:05 AM
Being a teacher, I like to impart the knowledge to my students but with the lathe, she likes to be in control.

This time she taught me about speed. After using a torch to burn the top of this bowl, I was really starting to like the shape. Using the vacuum chuck was going great until I reached warp speed. The bowl hit the ways, danced in mid air like a cartoon character, and then landed in my hands. I liked the catch until I saw the bruised part!

Love to learn!

Steve Schlumpf
05-18-2007, 9:11 AM
Pete - that is a great looking bowl! Sorry about the mishap but the bowl didn't break! Have any ideas about the bruised area?

Jim Becker
05-18-2007, 9:24 AM
Bummer when that happens, but you know what? This one's not in pieces. Just carefully hand sand that "bruised" area to remove the gouges, even if that leaves you a small flatter spot with eased edges. That's now the "back" of the piece. :D

Oh, and that's one beautiful turning, Pete!

Bernie Weishapl
05-18-2007, 9:46 AM
Pete don't ya just hate it when that happens. Especially when you are just putting the finishing touches on.

Great looking piece Pete. I really like the burnt edge. Nice job.

Steve Schlumpf
05-18-2007, 10:10 AM
Pete, just wondering if you already have a finish applied. If not, I remember that dents can be removed by applying a damp towel over the bruised area and use a warm iron to heat the towel. Causes the wood fibers to swell back to normal. I have used this with 'flatwork' and I do know that it works. Please keep us informed as to what you decide to do.

Ken LaSota
05-18-2007, 10:19 AM
Pete I feel your pain I had the same thing happen yesterday taking the bottom off of a tulip shape bowl. The last cut sent it flying and cracked the top in two places . Now it is a pencil cup.
Ken

Nancy Laird
05-18-2007, 10:22 AM