PDA

View Full Version : A Whale Tail Stool

Charlie Mastro
05-17-2007, 9:07 PM
I wonder how many of you saw the back cover of the current FWW #191. There was an article on Kintaro Yazawa from Japan and whose work I was already familiar with but had no idea how he did it. Well after reading the article I felt challenged to try his technique myself. I have been making dovetail stools for 25 years and needed a piece to show in the Wallowa County Arts Festival here in Joseph on June 1 so this seemed like a good time to try it. I wonder if I might be the first person in the states to try this.
Turned out to be quite a process as I must have made every mistake possible and I learned a lot of things I’ll do different next time but in the end I was able to save it and it turned out about as good as I could have expected after all the repairs I had to do.

I hope we will have a video uploaded tonight and I will post a link it.

Charlie Mastro
05-17-2007, 9:11 PM
More pics.

Howie French
05-17-2007, 9:14 PM
Charlie, very very impressive !
Will you continue to do more of this ?

I saw that article too, really neat work, I had never seen this before.

Howie

Mark Stutz
05-17-2007, 9:16 PM
Not only is the stool itself stunning, but the joinery is astonishing. I saw the article in FWW, but am still amazed...and a long way from trying that myself. I better stick to the plain ones for a while. Thanks for posting these.

If this isn't Best of Show then the judges need to be replaced.

Mark

David Tiell
05-17-2007, 9:17 PM
Simply Beautiful!! I saw the FWW back cover and accompanying article, but have definitely not gotten up the nerve to try it. Great work, and thanks for sharing!

Charlie Mastro
05-17-2007, 9:44 PM
Charlie, very very impressive !
Will you continue to do more of this ?

I saw that article too, really neat work, I had never seen this before.

Howie