PDA

View Full Version : The DNA Method

Mark Cothren
05-15-2007, 10:53 AM
With thanks to Dave Smith: http://alcoholsoaking.blogspot.com/

Keith Burns
05-15-2007, 11:03 AM
Thanks Mark !!!! It's is a great read with a great explanation and great documentation. Easy to understand as well.

Matt Haus
05-15-2007, 11:25 AM
Is that smoke I smell? Here we go.

Bill Bolen
05-15-2007, 1:28 PM
Thanks Mark. I've read a few articles about this metod and am anxious to give it a try. Superb explaniation.
Bill

Chris Barton
05-15-2007, 1:36 PM
Thanks Mark. How often do you replace or refresh your DNA? I ask this because as you soak more wood the original DNA will absorb more water and become lower proof over time.

Mark Cothren
05-15-2007, 1:47 PM
The only replacing I've done was to add new DNA to the mix. I've been soaking for 2+ years and haven't found the need to dump any yet.

Ron Sardo
05-15-2007, 1:49 PM
Chris

I find that I always "lose" some DNA when removing a rough out from the bath. By leveling off what is lost seems to work.

I know there will be a time when I need to replace my "used" DNA, but I'm still waiting.

Keith Burns
05-15-2007, 3:10 PM
Thanks Mark. How often do you replace or refresh your DNA? I ask this because as you soak more wood the original DNA will absorb more water and become lower proof over time.

Chris, I beleive Dave addresses this in his article.

Bernie Weishapl
05-15-2007, 3:28 PM

Chris I am going 1+ yrs. on my DNA now and seems to be doing fine. As it goes down I will add some back.

Thanks Mark.

Chris Barton
05-15-2007, 4:43 PM
Chris, I beleive Dave addresses this in his article.

Thanks Keith. Mark already answered the question.

Chris Barton
05-15-2007, 4:45 PM
Chris I am going 1+ yrs. on my DNA now and seems to be doing fine. As it goes down I will add some back.

Thanks Mark.