PDA

View Full Version : Cool business card?

Marc Myer
05-14-2007, 1:23 PM
My younger brother is about to become very successful with a new product (It's a solar energy-related company). He's meeting with investors next week, and I want to make him some killer business cards.
What are your favorite ideas for business card designs? I'm a graphic designer by profession, but lasering is new. I'm wide open for suggestions. I've done some wood ones, but it's not really the best material for this particular job. There must be something I can use, some cool material, to create a business card that will knock 'em dead. Maybe a material or technique I can use in conjunction with a traditional card design, with a lasered image as an enhancement?
Heck, I'll take any and all suggestions.
Mahalo!

Brian Robison
05-14-2007, 2:19 PM
I like the "metals" engravable plastic from IPI and Rowmark. The brushed stainless is my favorite.You can use some shading from pictures or clip art with these and it turns out nice. I apply a magnet to the back. They aren't cheap to do, but they look pretty good.

Lee DeRaud
05-14-2007, 2:40 PM
I've found that cards engraved on 1/32" or 1/64" plywood rank very high on the "ooh-and-aah" scale, and are (relatively) cheap to make.

Nancy Laird
05-14-2007, 3:01 PM
Marc,

I agree with Lee, 1/32 or 1/64" wood makes a pretty business card and the 1/32 is very substantial.
A copy of our business card from 1/32" Finland birch ply, can be found here:

http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=55608 in post #5.

We always get that ooh and aah reaction when we give these out, and they have led to orders.

Nancy

Mitchell Andrus
05-14-2007, 3:59 PM
Killer effect for pennies:

Buy card stock and print the graphics on them with a laser printer. MS Pub or CorelPaint will do fine.

Lay out the card's outline and laser-cut them in sheets. Following the graphics is very effective - you can get very far away from a rectangle...