PDA

View Full Version : Critique my self engineered beam

Sam Shank
05-10-2007, 10:34 AM
I work in a lab, and we have very high (about 11' to the drop ceiling, and another 2-3 feet above that for mechanicals) ceiling.

I want to hang some rock rings http://www.metoliusclimbing.com/howto-trainrockring.htm I have 2 sturdy bench shelves that I can put a beam across. The beam has to be 13 feet across. The beam will need to hold my 200 pound weight without flexing.

Here's my thought: rip 3/4" ply into 6" strips. Laminate them together as follows:

8'-5'
5'-8'
2'-8'-3'

So, I'll have 3 strips of 3/4" ply, 6" wide laminated together. Do you think this will be adequate? I will hang the rings in the middle, and then hang off the rings.

Thanks for your input!

Sam

dan moran
05-10-2007, 10:43 AM
could you use a pair of 14' SYP 2x10s??

seems like it could save you a lot of thought and glue

Kyle Kraft
05-10-2007, 10:58 AM
My engineering professor told me and I quote, "There is always deflection under load." The point being you can't "zero deflection" but you can have tolerable or perhaps even really super hard to measure deflection.

Sam Shank
05-10-2007, 11:02 AM
I could use a pair of SYP beams, but I want to be able to transport it up to the 8th floor easily in the elevator, and not attract too much attention carrying a 14 foot beam from my truck, though the lobby, into the elevator, down the hall, and into my area.

If I break it up like that, I can bring it in here without raising too many eyebrows.

Yes, yes, I know that there will be SOME deflection, but I just don't want it to ever break, and to sag as little as possible.

Jamie Buxton
05-10-2007, 11:30 AM