PDA

View Full Version : Epilog Legend Problem

Bill Jermyn
05-07-2007, 10:21 AM
I am very new to laser engraving, and have just set up my used Legend 32EX (75 Watt). I was vectoring an imposition of rectangles, and when the laser finishes a row of rectangles, it makes a disturbing noise when it quickly moves the head right to left to start the second row of the imposition. The sound appears to be coming from inside the X beam. It sounds like a belt slipping or vibrating. I am leery to open up the cover on the beam, since one of the screws is located behind the right mirror, and I'm afraid to remove the mirror for fear of mis-aligning the laser beam.

I phoned my Epilog rep, and he told me I was probably running the speed too fast, and that this machine should never be run at more than 20% speed. This sounds odd to me, since the manual suggests 100% speed for many materials. Any ideas?

Mike Null
05-07-2007, 10:44 AM
Bill:

The reference to 100% speed deals with rastering not vectoring. You should set your machine to a speed which will give you smooth lines and the cutting depth you want.

Even with rastering, 100% speed may not be possible but it will be because of achieving the desired depth.

I never vector at more than 5 and usually much less.

Joe Pelonio
05-07-2007, 10:52 AM
On a big job the vector speed makes a big difference in production time. Depending on the material I cut up to about a speed of 50% with no odd noises. For example, cutting 1/16" acrylic I run at speed 25, for card stock 50%.

Was your used machine bought from a dealer that serviced and tested it, or from a private individual? A loose x-belt will make a noise, but I'd also make sure that the x bar has been lubricated.

Dave Jones
05-07-2007, 11:45 AM
If the Legend is built anything like my Epilog Mini, as far as the X bar cover, then the cover has slots where the screws are that hold it on. You don't remove the screws, simply loosen them and the cover lifts off.

Peck Sidara