PDA

View Full Version : 2 problems with my vector cuts

Craig Hogarth
05-06-2007, 7:16 PM
I don't know if this is the cause, but yesterday, I went to manually focus on something that was too tall and the laser head hit against the object. Sorry, I'm still learning terminology, but the bar (with the laser head) got cockeyed and I pushed it back into place.

Anyways, I'm having two problem with vector cuts on these business cards. First, it's not very straight as you can see, however, it does cut straight when cutting the cards out. Second, you can see it goes off center later on. The vector cuts started on the top right working down then moving to the next row to the left and then going up. In one picture, you can see it was cutting good initially, but somewhere it goes all screwy.

Any ideas?

Pictures too big to post. I'll have them posted here in a few or linked online.

Craig Hogarth
05-06-2007, 7:24 PM
Vectored in right spot

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i1/hogied/100_1963.jpg

All screwed up

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i1/hogied/100_1964.jpg

Side by side

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i1/hogied/100_1965.jpg

Joe Pelonio
05-06-2007, 7:28 PM
I don't know if this is the cause, but yesterday, I went to manually focus on something that was too tall and the laser head hit against the object. Sorry, I'm still learning terminology, but the bar (with the laser head) got cockeyed and I pushed it back into place.

As a precision instrument the laser has to be adjusted perfectly to run right.

That jolt may have moved or even bent something, but it also could have
knocked the mirrors/lense out of alignment. I wouldn't try to run it without
removing the x bar cover, inspecting it thoroughly, and rechecking the alignment. Also checking for free movement with the machine off, and running a job where it moves over the whole table but with the door open to listen for noises.

Mike Null
05-06-2007, 7:45 PM