PDA

View Full Version : Annealing & Grinding

Doug Mason
05-05-2007, 11:17 AM
After I anneal a piece of 01 oil steel to roughly 1400 F,then quench, can I grind an edge of the softened metal without worry of the steel turning blue? Or will it still turn blue in this state?

Zahid Naqvi
05-05-2007, 11:25 AM
I am not an expert on these things, but most I have read suggests that all grinding (primary bevel) be done prior to any kind of heat treatment.

Mike K Wenzloff
05-05-2007, 12:45 PM
Hi Doug,

Quenching after heating will harden the metal. Heating then allowing to cool will anneal. In general, the steel most likely is annealed if purchased new unless it states otherwise.

The steel can be hardened during the grinding process, which is how it would blue the easiest. This often happens as a result of quenching during grinding in an attempt to keep it cooled down. Just watch for color change while grinding. Use a 36 grit or so wheel and it won't get too hot if you take it easy.

Take care, Mike

Mike Henderson
05-05-2007, 12:46 PM
I'm not a blacksmith so I'll ask a blacksmith person to clarify, but I think that if you heat carbon steel to a high temperature and quench it, you are hardening it and not annealing it. I believe that you have to let the metal cool slowly (the slower the better) in order to anneal it.

Mike

Jon Toebbe
05-05-2007, 12:58 PM
I think that if you heat carbon steel to a high temperature and quench it, you are hardening it and not annealing it. I believe that you have to let the metal cool slowly (the slower the better) in order to anneal it.
I've heard the same thing directly from an old-skool blacksmith. He uses old car springs to make tools and anneals the material by heating it up until a magnet won't stick to it any more, then burying it in dry dirt or ashes.