PDA

View Full Version : ?? on Halfblind Dovetails on leigh Jig

Gilbert Vega
05-03-2007, 12:46 AM
I just finished doing HB dovetails on 10 kitchen drawers (front and back) and noticed some slight variations in the fit. Visually they look okay butsome have a snug fit and others are just slightly loose. I have the original 1258 - 24" jig. Upgrades so far are the new stops. Alignment between the two boards is good so that not a problem. I did experience some difficulty in setting the thickness dimension on the scales (cast).

I have now ordered the new clamps and the new scales from Leigh. How critical is the the setting the thickness accurately? I realise it affects the amount the pin protrudes but does it also affect the fit? This is my first attempt so I'm trying to get this perfected. Thanks.

Gilbert

Ken Mutch
05-03-2007, 3:46 AM
Hi Gilbert
Not an expert, but do get some neat ones with my jig (a very old Festool jig).
My experience is that depth is super critical. Festool quote a depth for the cutter, but I found by trial and error what the optimal depth is and then made a simple depth gauge so that all setups are accurate.
So, my advice is scraps, patience and good luck.
Cheers,
Ken

Jim Becker
05-03-2007, 9:32 AM
Bit depth is absolutely critical for half-blind dovetails...but consistent thickness of the material contributes, too. And be sure you are keeping your router in exactly the same orientation as you mill the workpieces as many guide bushings are not perfect nor perfectly centered in the router base. (And/or the base isn't perfectly concentric with the cutter)

I always make and keep samples for half-blinds so I can quickly set-up the router for future work on the same thickness material. But they are only a guide...you still need to make a test cut or three to account for minor variations before you start cutting the final material.

Ken Mutch
05-09-2007, 1:53 AM
..but consistent thickness of the material contributes, too.
Hi Jim