PDA

View Full Version : Jointer results - what am I doing wrong?

Jeff Cord
04-27-2007, 9:35 PM
OK. I need guidance from the more experienced among you.
I recently fully aligned my jointer.
At the moment the tables are as perfectly co-planer as they can get.
I adjust the outfeed table so that there's no snipe, just a nice clean edge.
I lower the infeed to get a 1/32" cut and edge joint two boards (they're about 12" each).
Now, when I put the boards next to each other the ends touch but there's a gap in the center.
Is this a problem with technique?
I'm confused.:confused:
Jeff

Mark Singer
04-27-2007, 9:46 PM
It may be technique. Start with pressure on the first table and the switch to pressure just past the knives as the board come through

Jeff Cord
04-27-2007, 9:55 PM
No luck.
I even tried a longer board and same thing.
:confused:
Jeff

Jeff Booth
04-27-2007, 10:54 PM
Well, I am not a jointer expert, but when I got my used jointer it did that. Then I noticed that one of the knives was slightly higher than the outfeed table, after alignment of all 3 knives it stopped doing that. Eventually I got myself a Starrett 3' straight edge and actually tuned the tables, they were sagging about 5 thousands over 3 feet, but that had much less effect than the high knife. That is my 2 cents, good luck,

Jeff Booth

gary Zimmel
04-27-2007, 11:17 PM
How much of a gap do you have? To me the outfeed talbe is still a smidge low. Have you tried to raise it a fraction to see what will happen.

Dan Forman
04-28-2007, 3:16 AM
That is usually the result of beds which aren't parallel, one or both tipping down at the end. How did you measure to determine they were co-planer (actually in this case, you want parallel, rather than co-planer)?

Dan

Richard Butler
04-28-2007, 3:37 AM
I use Bob Vaughn's method of aligning jointer knives. It eliminated all manner of issues on my 8" jointer. I tried other methods of setting the knives and they all pale in comparison.