PDA

View Full Version : nubie question about cutting joints for small boxes

Darcy Schaffer
04-26-2007, 3:30 PM
Ok, here's the condensed version of my problem:
What small footprint saw will cut accurate 90 degree crosscuts or 45 degree miter cuts in smallish pieces of wood to be used for making boxes?

Now the long version:
I'm fairly new to woodworking but have been turning bowls on my lathe for some time. I've always been fascinated with wooden boxes and would like to make an attempt at creating some. The only tools I currently own are a Dewalt 618 multibase router and table and a few hand tools (#3 plane and japanese saw).

My question is what tool can I use to to crosscut small boards (cherry, walnut, etc.) into small box sized square pieces (say boxes of around 8" in length) ? I plan on starting with purchased stock so won't need a jointer or planer. All I need to do is take that purchased wood and cut it to length with a nice square edge or better yet, a nice 45 degree miter edge.

My first thought was to get a powered miter saw but from reading the forums no one seems to think highly of their accuracy.

The common approach seems to be a table saw but I don't have the space for one and it seems overkill for small boxes.

I'm thinking of just buying a circular saw and using it with a straight edge but I don't know if the CS is capable of making accurate square or mitered cuts.

So many tools...so little experience. Help!

Darcy

Scott Loven
04-26-2007, 3:38 PM
Have you tried making a hand miter box (http://www.inlay.com/marquetry/wood_inlay_part1.html)to use with your Japanese saw or a shooting board (http://images.google.com/images?hl=en&q=shooting+board&gbv=2)to use with your plane?
Scott

Darcy Schaffer
04-26-2007, 3:45 PM
Yes, I've tried both but with limited success. I just can't hand saw straight enough to build boxes to my satisfaction.