PDA

View Full Version : new member--table saw question

allan cripe
04-26-2007, 9:02 AM
I am excited about being a member on this forum! As a novice woodworker, I have many questions for all of you!!

I am well aware of the shortcomings of the "cheap" bench table saw...however i have a budget of about $250, and my needs are primarily for furniture for my 6 year old daughter (captain's bed) and later a kitchen nook/pedastal table. I have a few modest peices under my belt, I am on the fence as to wait on the table saw and continue with my circular, and miter saw for now.

the saw I was leaning toward was the JET model, (their cheapest one)...I cant remember the exact model now (I'm at work;) ). but I REALLY like the idea of the belt drive.

I've heard that the blade has a tendency to ride down a bit during use..Is this common among the lower tier saws??

I expect a flood of feedback!

thanks

Al

Zahid Naqvi
04-26-2007, 9:17 AM
Allan, welcome to the creek. I am not much of an electron burner, but I would suggest you keep an eye on used tools. I have seen several Delta contractor saws going for close to $300/$350 range. These are good saws and very popular among hobbyists. A new one around $300 would probably be a "job site" type saw which is really not worth it.

Cliff Rohrabacher
04-26-2007, 9:28 AM
Get into the used saw market.

The things that wear out are easily replaced at low cost.
This is true with one exception - the Tracks ( the "ways" really) in which the miter fence slides.

If it's worn out don't buy that saw. You will always be fiddling with ways to compensate for a sloppy fence ways.

Andrew Williams
04-26-2007, 9:30 AM