PDA

View Full Version : My First Bowl

Ron Mitchell
04-24-2007, 8:17 PM
This is my first attempt a turning a bowl. I saw this online and I wanted to see if i could do it. http://bobhamswwing.com/Articles/economy/TRUE%20ECONOMY.htm The base is 2-3/4" and it stands 2-3/4" high and 8" at the lip of the bowl. Its made of Bubinga and Birds Eye Maple. It took me around nine hours to complete. I now realize I need to take a few bowl turning classes to improve my skills and hopefully cut down on the time it takes from start to finish. I wish I made the base a little larger so that it wouldn't have such a funnel shape to it.;)
I finnished it with three coats of walnut oil and three coats of salad bowl finnish.

Thanks for taking a look...
all comments are welcome

Mark Pruitt
04-24-2007, 8:38 PM
Great job! Interesting design.

Neal Addy
04-24-2007, 8:46 PM
Very nice! Much better than most 'first bowls'!

I hadn't seen that article from our very own Bob Hamilton. Thanks for posting it. May have to try that some day.

Curt Fuller
04-24-2007, 9:14 PM
That is very cool! I'd be glad to help you learn how to turn a bowl if you'd teach me how to do dovetail joint like that.

Ron Mitchell
04-24-2007, 9:37 PM
Curt,

Thanks for the offer...

the dovetail joint took me three hours to setup on the router table with alot of scrap pieces. but I tought the dovetail came out well.

the bowl was hard for me to complete...it broke apart three time before I got to the sanding phase. I think its because it is made up of eight segmented pieces which are potential weak points.

so far I have only made a gavel, a Christmas ornament, and about 100 or so pens on a lathe. the only class I took was for the Ornament the rest I did myself.

here is a link to photos of some of my other projects I've completed in the past three years. http://s33.photobucket.com/albums/d54/remnantswoodshop

Bob Hamilton
04-24-2007, 10:27 PM
Hi, Ron: