PDA

View Full Version : Hello Everyone

Jim Surkau
12-30-2003, 5:13 PM
Been lurking around in the background learning what I can. Thought I would post and say hi.

I just got into woodworking about 3 months ago. It seems to come natural. I was a machinist/ mechanic. Now I am a computer geek for a living. I was itching for some hand craftsmanship type stuff and woodworking is filling that bill.

I am currently building Norms Deluxe Router Table. I am looking for ideas on how I should finish it.

BTW, I am a dual forumite. This is the second ww forum I have become a member of. Hopefully this is not frowned upon. I truly enjoy the other forum, but this forum seems to be a bit larger. The way I look at it, the more brains the better.

Kent Cori
12-30-2003, 5:30 PM
Jim,

Welcome to SMC and we're happy to have you. You'll really like it here and the more perspectives, the more valuable the experience becomes.

Your router table looks great so far. Make sure to publish a photo when it is completed.

I built Norm's original router table version a year ago of maple and maple plywood. I finished the cabinet with four coats of a wipe-on gloss poly/BLO/mineral spirits mixture (equal parts of each) and it looks great. It has held up very well in my humid garage workshop.