PDA

View Full Version : Tuning/Trueing a hand plane

Chuck Wintle
02-28-2003, 6:16 PM
I want to tune up my hand plane. It's a Stanley Bailey that is made in England. Would it be worth it to have the plane body trued in a mchine shop? The sides are square to the bottom. Also where the plane blade holder sits it looks not to be well machined. Should I have the four points where it sits trued up to be equal? Or am I expecting too much to do this?
Thank you

Wendell Wilkerson
02-28-2003, 7:47 PM
Howdy Charles,

Here's an atricle you might find relevant to your plane tuning project: Handplane Tuning (http://www.woodcentral.com/bparticles/plane_tune.shtml) . I am not an expert at handplane tuning so I won't try to give any other advice. Best of luck.

Wendell

Dennis McDonaugh
02-28-2003, 9:04 PM
Charles, I have a #5 Jack plane made in England. I bought it before I was "educated" about how much better older Stanley planes are than the new ones. I tuned my plane by truing the sole on 220 sand paper glued to plate glass and filing the burrs off the frog and mouth. Then I made sure the blade was "scary sharp" and I can't tell the difference between it and some older Baileys I have since acquired. I really like the size and since I replaced the plastic handles its a joy to use and look at. Its not hard and you'll really enjoy the experience when you hear that swooosh when you use it.

Alan Hamilton
03-01-2003, 12:55 PM
Charles,

I wouldn't take any plane of mine to a machine shop unless I found a machinist who was also a wood worker with knowledge about hand planes. An untutored machinist will almost always grind away much more metal than necessary. It's the way they work; they usually aren't called upon to remove the small amounts that will true up a plane sole. Removing too much is very bad--it can alter the stresses in the casting that can undo the flattening in short order.