PDA

View Full Version : jointers-the best bang for my buck

Austin Dienner
04-21-2007, 7:38 PM
I am looking into buying a jointer. I am just a beginner and all i need is something to make a straight edge. I need something that works great, fairly cheap, and long lasting. Anybody with any ideas please let me know.

Darl Bundren
04-21-2007, 7:54 PM
I own the Ridgid 6" jointer, and I think that the price on it is fair. You might be able to get some sort of discount or special financing from Home Depot. It works well. Good luck shopping.

Jim Becker
04-21-2007, 7:57 PM
Nearly "any" jointer will give you a straight edge. Heck, you can do that with a router table and a split fence. Please don't forget that jointer are not just for edges. The other major important function is to make a board flat before you deal with the edge. That's the only way you'll have an edge that is both straight and truly perpendicular to the face of the board.

robert micley
04-21-2007, 8:03 PM
i have a grizzly jointer-it works great.i have never seen the job a spiral cutterhead does.grizzly has an 8 inch spiral for 925.00.some new jointers like rikon have some sort of micro adjuct.i do not know what that means.i just use mine for jointing faces and edges.i have never used one for bevel angles or dadosmaybe some other folks can comment on the spiral cutterheads.

Al Killian
04-21-2007, 8:12 PM
First off, what size projects will you be makeing? If you plane on makeing little boxes and stuff then a 4" or 6" will be plenty. If you plan on makeing larger peices including cabinets and stuf a small one will not last long befor you out grow it. So, depending on your needs depends on the size you should get. It is easeir to get one now instead of trying to sell it then buy bigger.

Cliff Rohrabacher
04-21-2007, 9:07 PM