PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Question

Dave Hammelef
02-28-2003, 5:39 PM
Help Creekers. If I am to have a 100 amp sub panel, should it not be feed through a 100 amp 220V circuit breaker?

The reason I ask is as many know I am having an addition done, and they are to move my old 100 amp box to the addition and they put in a 200 amp box in the old spot. Then run a line to feed the 100 amp box. They are doing the work as I type and It looked to me he was only putting on a 50 amp 220v circuit breaker?????

Whats Up????

Dave

Todd Burch
02-28-2003, 5:46 PM
If you ordered 100 amps, ask them how you are supposed to get that with a 50 amp breaker. Duh!

Todd.

Steve Roxberg
02-28-2003, 5:46 PM
I can check when I get home, but that doesn't sound odd to me. Seems mine was the same way.

One thing to watch our for is in the subpanel. The neutral and the ground in the Subpanel should be isoloted from one another. In the main panel they are tied together. I'm not an electrician and hired one to put in my subpanel. After researching some codes and what not it became obvious that the panel had been put in wrong.

Ask about, and pay attention to how the neutral and ground bars are placed in the sub.

Are the panels made by the same folks?

Kevin Gerstenecker
02-28-2003, 6:34 PM
Dave,