PDA

View Full Version : Need Cabinet Assembly Advice

Carl Garner
04-19-2007, 10:23 PM
I did a search and read a bunch of posts on cabinets; however, I did not see much in the way of how to do the final assembly.

I made face frames and carcases for some cabinets for our den. They are simple in nature. I will have, in addition to some wall cabinets, four base cabinets with carcases, including bottoms, made of 3/4 birch ply, with 1/4" backs, prolly stapled to the sides. I made the face frames from 3/4" poplar.

I plan to use my Kreg pocket hole jig as much as I can. I also have a biscuit joiner that I may use to line up the top of the bottom of the face frame with the bottom (floor).

The cabinets will sit on already installed and leveled 3/4" ply bases.

Since I've never built cabinets before, I really would like advice on the specific steps involved for assembly of the carcasses and face frames in (where to begin), especially from you who have used pocket hole joinery for cabinets?

I appreciate this forum.

Carl

Dave Falkenstein
04-19-2007, 10:55 PM
I build the carcasses first. I like to use dado joints to add strength to the carcasses, but frankly those cabinets I have made with butt joints seem just fine. If you want to use pocket hole and screws for the carcass assembly, I think you can use butt joints successfully, especially since you are using 3/4" plywood for the carcasses. Adding a back and face frame will help add stability to the cabinets. Be sure to include a "nailer" strip across the top of the base cabinets, and across the top and bottom of the wall cabinets. This nailer strip must be well secured to the carcass, and will be used to secure the cabinets to the wall, using 3" screws (not nails, as the name implies).