PDA

View Full Version : Change of pace . . .

Bert Johansen
04-19-2007, 1:52 PM
In the "Hill Country" of central Texas we have an annual event that nature provides every spring—a huge out-pouring of spring flowers. Yesterday, SWMBO and I drove to Fredericksburg and a noted nearby route called the Willow City Loop. Here are a few pictures for your enjoyment.

Bert

I created a temporary web page with more photos and text. I'm not sure how to add a link, so you might have to copy and paste this URL.

http://www.shininghorizonschool.org/willowcityloop

Greg Stanford
04-19-2007, 1:56 PM
I was a student in San Marcos & lived in Wimberly, beautiful country.

g

Don Bullock
04-19-2007, 3:59 PM
Love those bluebonets!! Thanks for the breath of fresh air.

Keith Beck
04-20-2007, 10:04 AM
Bert,

A little off topic, but...

I've been giving some thought to moving to Texas hill country when I retire from the Navy. I used to work with a guy from Uvalde and he was always telling me how nice the hill country is and backing it up with pictures of some really picturesque spots. That, in addition to the lack of state income taxes and the fact that they don't tax military retirement pay is making it very inviting.

Can you offer any other input on some nice towns in the area? I want to move somewhere that's not as congested as the Hampton Roads area, but I still want to be fairly close to some urban amenities (i.e., Woodcraft, Lowes, Home Depot :)). Median house prices also come into play. BTW, what are the summers and winters like in that area?

Any feedback you (or any other hill country natives) may have would be most appreciated.

Keith

Bert Johansen
04-20-2007, 12:08 PM