PDA

View Full Version : Ambrosia Maple....why so cheap?

Dan Drager
04-18-2007, 4:38 PM
OK, I have seen ambrosia maple before. I understand the colors come from the beetle of the same name. But I have never worked with it before. I was killing some time between meeting last week at the Woodcraft in West Allis, WI. and saw a stack that really caught my eye. I never buy wood there as the cost is far more than I usually pay for wood at auctions, my main source for wood. I was prepared to cough up a bunch for a single board until I saw it was only $2.80 BF. I was stunned. I "figured" maple for under $3 bf? How could this be? So I bought about 40 bf and went off happy. Maybe one of you can enlighten me where the store clerk could not. Why is it so cheap? Less than the cost of clear maple, hard or soft, and way less than any other figured or spalted maple. Is it the bug holes?

I plan on using it in a few boxes and the door panels for a small cabinet I've got in mind. Anything I need to know about working with it?

Thanks in advance for any clarifications or help.

Mike Parzych
04-18-2007, 5:06 PM
I've always been surprised by that fact too. I imagine it's cheaper because most people are interested only in maple with the customary look.

Chris Barton
04-18-2007, 6:19 PM
Part of the reason is that the only primary commercial use of ambrosia maple is for unseen frame pieces in upholstered furniture. Aside from that, it's strictly a hobbiest product. I have been able to buy AM for as little as $2/bf.

Joe Jensen
04-18-2007, 6:31 PM
Part of the reason is that the only primary commercial use of ambrosia maple is for unseen frame pieces in upholstered furniture. Aside from that, it's strictly a hobbiest product. I have been able to buy AM for as little as $2/bf.
Do you know how stable it is?..joe

Stephan Borszcz
04-18-2007, 8:17 PM