PDA

View Full Version : Help me create a Gloat.........

Tony Falotico
12-28-2003, 1:58 PM
I'm going (hopefully Tuesday) to look at a used Powermatic Model 66 Table saw, 5 HP Baldor TEFC 220 volt single phase with 52" Biesmier Fence. The seller purchased it new 12 years ago, has not used it commercially, and apparently has had limited usage the past few years. He says it is all original and in good condition, except for the normal stains one would expect on the table.

This is more machine than I need, but if conditions are right, WHY NOT? I am a home hobbyist, do not woodwork commercially, just enjoy doing it. I plan on building all new furniture for our home and redoing the kitchen (new cabinets, relocating walls) over the next few years.

1. Is there any reason I don't want this machine?
2. What should I look for when I go see it? Any irregularities in this model? What tests should I conduct?
3. Assuming it is in good condition, What is it worth?

Please help me out, I'm excited about it but don't want to make an expensive mistake.

Jim DeLaney
12-28-2003, 2:42 PM
It should be a super good saw. The only drawback might be the power requirements. A 5 hp motor is going to need a 30 amp dedicated circuit. Be sure you have enough panel space for the required power. Other than that, you cn't go far wrong, assuming the saw is in the shape you describe, and the price is acceptable.

Let's hear about the actual deal when you complete it, and maybe see some pics, too.

Todd Burch
12-28-2003, 2:53 PM
Tony, that's a good saw. I have the same model I bought new in 12/97 - 6 years ago this month. When I bought it, I was a home hobbiest. Now, it gets daily (well, almost...) use.

The biggest thing you want to look for is blade runout. The biggest reason I leaned towards this saw new was the big beefy 3/4" arbor it has (that is turned to 5/8" where the saw blade goes).