PDA

View Full Version : Looking a critique

Steve Kubien
04-16-2007, 1:05 PM
Hi everyone,

Here's a spalted maple bowl I just finished up and I'd like some feedback on how I did on the form, proportions and finish. I know the pictures are bad but I'll work on photography when I have the time to really learn it.

4.5" wide
3" tall
walls are 1/4" - 5/16"
sanded to 600, 3 coats of Deft semi gloss and a buffing with EEE Ultrashine

Am I close on this or should I ditch my turning tools and go back to flat work (which I'm not very good at but I do enjoy)?

Thanks,
Steve Kubien
Ajax, Ontario

Christopher K. Hartley
04-16-2007, 1:15 PM
Steve, we would like to help you the very best we can with the critique you requested. Would it be possible for you to take your pictures a little closer so the detail of the bowl can be seen better. If you are able to do that it would be very helpful. If for whatever reason you have trouble with that, we'll do the best we can. Thanks for the submission.:)

Mike Vickery
04-16-2007, 1:16 PM
I think what is a good form is really a preference more than anything else. I like the piece but the form does not seem to realy pop though I do find it pleasing. If it was me I would either
1. decrease the vessel diameter at the rim so that the widest point of the vessel is about 2/3 of the height.
or
2. Decrease the size of the base to about 1/3rd of the diameter and give it more of a taper at the bottom.

This is just me, if you like it that is all that really matters. Definately a nice piece though. Do not ditch the turning tool you are doing some nice work.

Raymond Overman
04-16-2007, 1:21 PM
From what I see it's a nice bowl. The proportions and size of the foot tell me it's utilitarian. The wood choice is nice and the finish looks very good. It's not time to go back to flat work just yet.