PDA

View Full Version : Question for the 'Old Arn" guys.

Paul Douglass
04-15-2007, 10:35 AM
I would like to find and restore an older drill press or band saw. I found this Powermatic drill press and want an opinion. I think it is to high priced based on what I have read on the Old Iron website but, I am a novice.

http://seattle.craigslist.org/skc/tls/311149183.html

I got this info from the owner:

Serial 2-980
Century 3/4 hp single phase set up for 110/120 1725 rpm
Yes the variable speed works.

I also could not figure out the age from the serial number at the OI site. Just could not figure out how to read the photo copy of the serial numbers listed I think mid-60's

Hank Knight
04-15-2007, 12:26 PM
Paul,

$400 sounds high. I would think you could get a pretty nice "old iron" Rockwell or a Walker Turner for half that. Two caveats, though:

1. I don't know how much the variable speed is worth on the second hand market. That may justify the high cost for the Powermatic.

2. A lot depends on what shape the machine is in and how much you would have to spend to rehab it. If all the Powermatic needs is a paint job, it may be worth $400. If it needs parts, the cost of reconditioning a DP can go up quickly.