PDA

View Full Version : Need Help Cutting Rowmark

Belinda Barfield
04-14-2007, 12:13 PM
Hi all,

I know this is a basic, simple job, but as a Newb I need some help. Any and all is appreciated. I need to run this on Monday.

Job: 38 switch panel labels 1.75" x 0.5" engraved and cut. One 23.5" x 19.5" switch panel overlay engraved and cut.

Material: Romark LaserMax 1/16" thickness Black/White.

Machine: LaserPro Explorer 60 watt.

Issue: No problem with engraving. When cutting using settings recommended by sales company (listed below) I get flame jetting. One pass is not sufficient to cut through. With second pass material along cut edges become lighter and cut is not clean.

Cut settings recommended 10% Speed, 100% Power, 400 DPI, 500 PPI (not positive the PPI is correct - I am not at my office).

Now, I ran a test on IP Laserables, same thickness, not Rowmark. Didn't have any Rowmark on hand. Will the Rowmark cut differently?

Sorry for the long post. Should I increase speed, decrease power and run two passes? Help?!? When I contact sales company I am advised that I need to pay for online training. I have called them only four times in a year, and once was for a problem with function of the laser, not a question regarding how to use the laser.

THANKS IN ADVANCE.

Gary Hair
04-14-2007, 1:28 PM
Belinda,
I have a 30 watt explorer and I use 3.4 Speed and 100% power to cut most rowmark material I have used. I also use air assist to avoid flames. If you have discoloration on the edges, it will help a lot to use air.

Gary

Mike Null
04-14-2007, 2:01 PM
Your dpi and ppi settings are disabled in a vector mode. I like to cut this material in 2 passes to keep down flaming. My settings are 20 watts of power (your setting would be about 35% power)
1.5 speed and 2000 hertz. Speed settings vary by brand and model so you'll have to test that out but it looks like you're going too fast. With this material you just want to get barely through the material.