PDA

View Full Version : Jessem Mast-R-Slide

Paul Maxwell
04-14-2007, 10:14 AM
I am in the process of trying to decide on which table saw to keep. I have acquired both a right tilt and a left tilt cabinet saw and will only be keeping one. The Jessem Mast-R-Slide is available to me for a nice price, but I have little experience using a sliding table on a table saw. It would seem that the right tilt would hold the advantage when using the slider, while the left tilt has become the more popular choice when using the saw in conjuction with the fence. I am looking for some feedback.

Frederick Rowe
04-14-2007, 11:11 AM
Paul- I have a Mast-R-Slide on a left tilt Unisaw. I bought both at the same time and could have picked a right tilt but didn't. I prefer the left tilt for most of the typical reasons (blade tilts away from my hand guiding wood along the fence, risk of wood getting pinched between blade and fence, and all my previous saws were left tilt).

I'm burying my point here, but, the Mast-R-Slide's fence can be slide away (toward the left as you are facing the saw) when you tilt the blade on a left tilt saw. So you can still use the sliding table. 99% of my TS cuts made with a tilted blade use the rip fence, few if any do I need to use the Mast-R-Slide fence.

Your decision of right tilt v. left tilt should be made on other preferences, but the Mast-R-Slide doesn't have to one of them. If you require a tilted cut using the slider, it's easier to use on a right tilt, but can work on a left tilt, just move the Mast-R-Slide to the left to clear a left tilted blade. But I suspect, that would rare in most shops.

The Mast-R-Fence is a great piece of gear. Beautifully engineered and manufactured. What a joy to be able to square up pieces up to 36" in depth.

Gary Herrmann
04-14-2007, 11:13 AM
I've got mine on a left tilt. Again, personal preference.

Jeffrey Makiel
04-14-2007, 12:07 PM