PDA

View Full Version : Honing new set of chisels

Tim Malyszko
04-14-2007, 8:01 AM
First off, I want to clarify that I am very new to hand tools and this is only my second "real" handtool purchase, so I really am looking for guidance.

While at Woodcraft yesterday, I purchased the set of pfeil chisels that were on sale this month for $115. These are replacing some older Home Depot $15 3-pack special I probably picked up 3 years ago that worked fine for miscellaneous jobs around the house, but don't hold an edge long enough to make them useful for woodworking.

I've honed all the chisels' backs and am starting in on the bevel. From what I can tell, they have a 25 Degree bevel on them with a smaller 30 degree bevel at the edge. Is this an ideal setup? Should I change anything?

Do you have any good "how to" guides that you can point me to that specifically addresses bench chisel honing?

I use a 325/600 grit DMT duosharp diamond stone, a 1000 grit Shapton waterstone and a 5000 grit Shapton waterstone for sharpening/honing. In addition, I use the Pinnicle honing guide. Do I need anything else to hone chisels properly? I've used these to sharpen and hone a number of old plane blades with much success.

On another note, over easter, I mentioned that I was going to buy a new rabbetting block plane. My grandpa overheard me and mentioned he had an old plane that had never been used, sitting in one of his workbench cabinets. It turns out it's a #220 Stanley Block plane that he believes is over 40 years old. It's in the original box with all the original packaging. Is an old, unused 220 worth anything and would it make a good addition to my shop?

Thanks in advance.

Jim Dunn
04-14-2007, 9:16 AM
Tim, that's a real good price for those chisels. Congrats on your find.

I honed the backs of a set of bench users to 1500 cause I could. I really can't tell you from an "experienced person" standpoint but it was easy to get from 800 to 1500 so I thought why not.

James Owen