PDA

View Full Version : First Festool

Roy McQuay
04-13-2007, 1:41 PM
I went to Woodcraft yesterday and bought a new lathe and while there, the salesman from Festool came in and gave me a personal demo of Festool machines. I was impressed but just paid for my lathe, Jet 1442, and left. I left the lathe there to pick up this morning. I got the lathe this morning and then went back in and bought the Domino with all the trimmings including the mid size vac. For making chairs, I think it will be much faster than conventional m/t joints and way stronger than dowelling. I hope it is worth the expense in time saved, but I am sure, from reading other posts, it will be.

Jim Becker
04-13-2007, 2:32 PM
Congratulations, Roy! Welcome to yet another slippery slope! :D Gee...turning and Festool in one week. That's a BIG hole to step in! LOL! :D :D :D

Roy McQuay
04-13-2007, 2:57 PM
Thanks Jim. I have had a Delta midi lathe a long time, but never used it much, so I am new to turning as I want to try larger wood. The Domino made sense to me because I make a lot of chidrens rocking chairs out of figured woods and they take me a lot of time to assemble. I have promised each of our 11 grandchildren one and so far have only made one for them. I have probably made 50 though. Anyway, I also do a lot of outdoor furniture and the Festool salesman said a new domino tenon will be available soon for outdoor use. That outdoor stuff sold me.

Ted Miller
04-13-2007, 3:34 PM