PDA

View Full Version : New vendor in town

Mario Lucchesi
04-13-2007, 9:30 AM
Are any of you familiar with a vendor called Fastenal?

They just opened a new store near me and have tools and fasteners of all kinds. They have a saw blade sharpening service as well, has anyone used it.

They also carry a tool brand called Jonnesway. they say that Ingersol Rand makes the air tools for Jonnesway and that they are everybit as good.

Joe Chritz
04-13-2007, 9:35 AM
They have stores all around.

Probably as good as any other to deal with but I expect it to be all based on the quality of any individual they have working for them.

I get almost any industrial stuff like that from MSC direct, Northern Tool or Enco but if I had a decent local shop I would throw business their way.

Don't know about the air tools. Any I have get used twice a year (except nailers and spray gun) so mine are bottom end.

Joe

David Weaver
04-13-2007, 9:37 AM
We have them here. I am only a hobbyist, so I have time to wait for the best deal, though, and I'm always able to find a better deal on amazon, etc. for things. I get my screws from McFeely's and I don't do anything important enough with bolts or other fasteners to need better than Borg quality.

It does seem like a genuinely good hardware type store, though, and they can order almost anything they don't have in stock.

Ken Fitzgerald
04-13-2007, 9:41 AM
Hey....must be a national company as I saw one in Moscow Idaho.....We in Idaho are the last ones to get one of anything....including a super Walmart....my wife whines about that all the time!

Kyle Kraft
04-13-2007, 9:46 AM
I've done business with Fastenal on an industrial level for years, and they offer a wide variety of Maintenance, Repair, and Operations parts and supplies. I buy grinding wheels, and cutoff wheels from them because I can see and touch the stuff before I buy, and they carry Norton abrasives.

They will also sell onesy twosy on drills, taps, and such for the hobbyist.