PDA

View Full Version : Finally ordered a jointer

John A. Williams
04-09-2007, 3:24 PM
well, I finally ordered an new Jointer. An 8" G0490. I considered a 12" G0690 and the jointer/planer combo. My decsision was based on funds, room available, built in mobile base, availabilty. What do I need to look out for, I've read about, belt adjusting, anything else?
John

Bill Eshelman
04-09-2007, 3:32 PM
Watch out for your boards suddenly being really straight and flat. It can be hard to comprehend at first.

Congrats..
Enjoy!

Art Mann
04-09-2007, 6:00 PM
Pardon me if you already have some experience and know this. I have noticed most new users try to take too much material off in one pass. I probably remove 1/32" or less per pass and do multiple passes.

John A. Williams
04-09-2007, 10:04 PM
Yeah, I prefer to take light passes, easier on the blades, and I am a hobbiest woodworker, so a few extra passes is no big deal.
John

Allen Bookout
04-10-2007, 12:34 AM
You are going to love it John. Of course we could all use a larger one if we had the space and funds. I got one of the first ones and it had zero problems and has zero problems. It was perfect as delivered and I hope that you have the same experience.

John A. Williams
04-10-2007, 7:51 AM
Thanks Allen, thats what I like to hear. I have great confidence that Grizzley will deliver a quality tool.
John

Ted Miller
04-10-2007, 10:09 AM
John, Table flatness, fence alignment, blade alignment and check the DC part of the machine. I often find to many places with crevice openings so I tape up all the spots I can find so the dust moves like it should...

Greg Cole
04-10-2007, 10:22 AM
I too will say you will love it. If you've never had one, you will ask why you haven't. I lament not buying a Shelix head for mine when I bought the tool, but ah well. Keep the HSS ones sharp and they will do well.
1/32" is PLENTY for a pass, for some of the figured lumber I've run on mine, I've found that 1/32" is way tooooo much.