PDA

View Full Version : TS vs Rail System in a hobby shop

Charles Wilson
04-08-2007, 10:22 PM
I am not trolling but am asking a serious question.

I would like to buy a TS but am not sure if I can justify the purchase (I am sure you have seen several of my posts about me flip/flopping). Two reasons - safety and safety.

If I do purchase a TS, I think that I am waiting for the SawStop Contractor to come out.

In the mean time, pick your rail system (EZ or FESTOOL) and what can that not do that a TS can do (in a hobby shop)? It seems to me that a rail system can do a variety of things like ultra thin cuts, crosscuts, rips, dados, rabbets, repeated cuts (repeaters on the EZ) and miters.

Again, I am not trying to start problems but am really curious as I am new to WW.

Be gentle.

Regards,
Chuck

Dave Falkenstein
04-08-2007, 11:22 PM
There have been lots of discussions along these lines in the past. To find many of them click on Search and use "Google Sawmill Creek". Enter something like "table saw and (ez or festool). You will get about 7 pages of search hits in Sawmill Creek alone. Happy reading.

Pete Brown
04-08-2007, 11:28 PM
When you say dados, I assume you're talking about using a router. I wouldn't want to use a circular saw for that.

I haven't used Dino's system, but most rail systems are not as accurate for a rip cut as a table saw. Dino's looks promising, though. For other stopped cuts, you can use the Festool system and rails with their MFT or you can go with the EZ system. I would stay away from the ones outside of those two.

I have the Festool TS with rails and a table saw. I use them both, but that may simply be because I have them both. I use my festool for sheet goods. I use my table saw for anything I can safely move across my saw table.

I have the Incra fence on my tablesaw, so I get real accuracy and repeatability with that.

I don't have a tenoning jig, but that is something the table saw can do that the circular saw cannot.