PDA

View Full Version : New Powermatic PWBS-14CS Bandsaw ???

Scott Taylor
04-08-2007, 10:00 AM
I just put this BS in service. It's the first I've ever owned. Anyone have a repliable source for getting this thing tuned in? I'd like to avoid buying all the BS books that are out there if I can find one source for what I need.

Knowing that I am a rookie, I tried some test cuts and the blade is all over the place. Proper tension is in place, probably more than necessary. Guards are just over the cut. And everything is square as far as I can tell. I've heard of adjusting for drift, but this drift seems a bit extreme.

BTW, I added the extension block. Don't know if that matters to this inquiry.

Mike Goetzke
04-08-2007, 10:18 AM
The Bandsaw Book by Lonnie Bird and Band Saw Handbook by Mark Duginske are always highly rated - I have the latter.

Mike

larry fredric
04-08-2007, 11:43 AM
BTW, I added the extension block. Don't know if that matters to this inquiry. images/buttons/quote.gif (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=563681)This has been a problem area with this BS. I took one back due to the grief it caused and got the DeltaX5,with the riser. IF you keep it,GOOGLE powermatic tuneup.
Larry

Andrew Williams
04-08-2007, 1:25 PM
a few questions:

1. is the blade centered on the top wheel?

2. are you using a high quality blade?

I should also add that the guide blocks and thrust bearings need to be aligned before the saw will cut properly, but I think that stuff is covered in the WMH manuals, so forgive me if you have heard that before.

glenn bradley
04-08-2007, 2:42 PM