PDA

View Full Version : Router rules

Karl Stewart
04-06-2007, 10:59 PM
I have taken on a project to make some kitchen cabinet doors out of maple. I bought some matching bits, put them in and did some test runs. It's very new to me and so far so good. One bothersome result were some burn marks. I think they were mostly from feed rate issues.

A few questions for the [vastly] more experienced....

When making a lot of stiles and rails is it best to run long lengths and cut to size, or to size and then rout?

What's the best way to avoid burn marks [fyi 2.25 Porter Cable, new bits, .5" shank]

What's the best speed for 1.25" diameter bit?

All $.02 appreciated. Please add any thoughts. I don't think I've bitten off too much as I have 14 doors and drawers with no due date and open check book. I've always been a better sales person than wood worker.

Karl

Nissim Avrahami
04-07-2007, 5:51 AM
Hi Karl

I'm only an amateur and can answer only your two last questions.

As I know, the burn marks are result of the bit spending too much time over a point (or too slow feeding). What I usually do is, I don't route all the depth at one pass but leave some 1/64", or less, for the last pass, that way, I can feed faster and remove the burn marks (especially on the cross-grain sides).

As for the bit speed, have a look at this chart
http://www.newwoodworker.com/ref/rtrbtspds.html

I hope that more experienced members will pop-in for better advises.

niki

Tim Malyszko
04-07-2007, 6:39 AM
When making a lot of stiles and rails is it best to run long lengths and cut to size, or to size and then rout?

First, I'd like to clarify that I've only been making raised panels for a few months now, but trial and error have taught me a few things.