PDA

View Full Version : Grizzly J/p Info

Dan Lautner
04-05-2007, 1:22 PM
Has anyone run the new J/P combo from Grizzly. I'm thinking of upgrading my fathers shop for his birthday. The spiral head seems like a good way to go. I don't see how the Minimax could be worth 2X the Griz. Thanks for any advice.

Dan

Pete Brown
04-05-2007, 1:43 PM
Has anyone run the new J/P combo from Grizzly. I'm thinking of upgrading my fathers shop for his birthday. The spiral head seems like a good way to go. I don't see how the Minimax could be worth 2X the Griz. Thanks for any advice.

Dan

I'm not saying it is worth 2x as I have no experience with either one, but I'd like respond to your comment in general. Take nothing below as an endorsement or slam of a particular brand or model.

Precision and accuracy costs money. The flatter you want something, the more square you want something, the more accurate you want something, the more it will cost. Better manufacturing practices result in better products right out of the gate. This means more time and likely more expensive equipment used in the manufacturing process.

Better materials hold up longer and move less. Cast iron that is cured and then milled is more stable than cast iron that was milled before it was cured. In addition, there are lots of differences in types of cast iron; some are better than others.

You might want to ask yourself why Grizzly have other 12" jointers (without the planer) that cost more than this combo. Perhaps it is the manufacturering process and tolerances? Perhaps it is because there is a lot less cast iron?

It's a bit like buying a craftsman hutch at Target vs. one made by someone who works wood for a living. Sure, they may both look the same on the surface, but one is made with inferior materials (like particle board) and has inferior joinery. One will last longer and take more abuse. Whether or not that piece of furniture it is worth an additional $6000 in price difference is really up to you.