PDA

View Full Version : Help with shop layout

Brad Ridgway
04-04-2007, 12:50 PM
I'm a newbie - hope these sorts of questions are ok here...

I have a 20x30 outbuilding (block constructions, 16' garage door on the front), side door for access and windows on two sides. However, I took the back 11x20 and made that my home office - so shop is down to 19x19ish factoring in walls...

I currently have the table saw centered right at the big garage door opening (so i feed boards from outside), i have the jointer, BS, DP, DC (a 1.5HP delta) all surrounding the table saw, so they can feed off a single 20amp 240V drop (jointer is actually on it's own). i felt cramming the tools along walls would not be useful (esp when trying to process longer stock), but all are mobile.

Opposite the garage door, i have cabinets / storage lining the full length of the back wall with a cutout in the middle into which i can roll my router table (or eventualy miter saw station any other tool if i wanted the countertop for addition support)

I can try to get a pic if it helps tonight, but i warn you it's a mess! I'm trying to get it ready so i can start some real projects instead of just shop furniture.

Anyway, i also have a 45 gallon compressor currently against window and butted up to one end of the counter. Just seems like a huge waste of space. Been reading past posts where people have put them in sheds, etc. Anyone made a slab and a dedicated structure for this along an exterior wall? I'd love to get both the Comp/DC outside, but worry about the elements, rust, etc. As i'm in florida, i'd have to poor the slab high enough to make sure rain wasn't a factor and the walls/top would have to be solid. And i'm not too sure the DC (rated 1250cfm) would do well at longer distances unless i piped with metal which kindof hurts my mobility factor... (i don't have a lot of attic room above to run the pipe and with 8' ceilings, i really don't want to lose the wall/ceiling space inside to do so.